Office of Research Administration

Pre-Award Division

Our Mission & Goals

NEW! Changes & Updates

Be sure to keep up to date with the latest Policy Changes & Updates before starting a grant application!

The Office of Research Administration is committed to serve as the central resource for faculty and staff by providing the financial and regulatory stewardship required in today's research environment.

Our mission is to provide administrative support to the Principal Investigators (PI's) in their pursuit of sponsored research, while ensuring compliance with University, federal, state, city and private sponsor regulations, terms and conditions.

The Pre-Award Division provides a wide range of services, including:

  • Review and submission of proposals
  • Just-in-Time submission
  • Award negotiation and acceptance (alongside RFC)
  • Establish accounts in the financial system
  • Carryover and Budget Modifications (when sponsor approval is required)
  • Progress Report submissions
  • No Cost Extensions (NCE's)
  • Sponsor communications during the life cycle of an award
  • Sponsor liaison on award issues
  • Award close-out (non-financial)
  • Grants education, training and outreach

The Pre-Award team works closely with investigators, department administrators and research staff to assist with budget preparation. The Pre-Award Division works closely with colleagues in the Post-Award Division and the Research Foundation Central Office (RFC) to support these research projects throughout various stages in the lifecycle of an award.

Pre-Award menu


CONTACT US:

Sharon Levine-Sealy, Director of Pre-Award Operations
sharon.levine-sealy@downstate.edu
718-270-1303

Kalilah O'Gwin, Assistant
kalilah.o'gwin@downstate.edu
718-270-2680


Contract Negotiation:

Ethan Denny, Contract Manager
ethan.denny@downstate.edu
718-613-8551

Grant Submission e-mail:
researchgrants@downstate.edu

Melissa Emanus, Assistant Director
melissa.emanus@downstate.edu
718-270-1179

Margaret Briggs, Sponsored Programs Associate
margaret.briggs@downstate.edu
718-613-8550

Laurian Bradford, Sponsored Programs Associate
laurian.bradford@downstate.edu
718-270-1723

TBH, Sponsored Programs Associate