Office of Research Administration

Post-Award Division

The Post-Award Division of the Office of Research Administration has responsibility for administering all externally and internally funded projects.

The division is divided into:

  • Grant Management
  • Human Resources
  • Payroll
  • Purchasing

The Grant Management team is responsible for oversight of externally and internally funded projects from the receipt of award to project closeout. The team assists in the establishment of internal policy and procedures, oversees compliance with funder regulations, provides fiscal reporting both internally and externally, collects and reports space survey data, and serves as an educational resource to the research community.

The Human Resources team manages the full range of employment programs available at the Research Foundation, including recruitment, benefits, compensation, employee relations and staff development. They provide strategic support and effective guidance for both current and prospective employees as well as retirees.

The Payroll team performs tasks to establish and maintain employee/payroll records. They are responsible for processing all employee wages and stipends, withholding all appropriate taxes on wages, deducting benefits and other authorized items from employee wages.

The Purchasing Department is a service unit established to support the mission of the Research Foundation. It is staffed by procurement professionals who have the requisite knowledge, skills and training to assist research personnel in the purchase of required goods and services. This expertise insures that procurement decisions will be made in the best interest of the Research Foundation and in compliance with state and federal statutes as well as Research Foundation policies.

Post-Award menu


CONTACT US:

Elliot Feder, Director, Post-Award Research Administration
elliot.feder@downstate.edu
718.270.3027

Grant Management:

Negussie Bogale, Assistant Director
negussie.bogale@downstate.edu
718.270.1129

Veronica DeGroot, Grant Manager
veronica.degroot@downstate.edu
718.270.2719

Olga Papirova, Grant Manager
olga.papirova@downstate.edu
718.270.4153

Jacqueline HoSang, Grant Manager
jackie.hosang@downstate.edu
718.270.1161

Human Resources:

Gary Leipzig, Assistant Director
gary.leipzig@downstate.edu
718.270.1182

Rocco Napoleone, HR Benefits Manager
rocco.napoleone@downstate.edu
718.270.1108

Abi-Gail Bernadine, Administrative Assistant
abi-gail.bernadine@downstate.edu
718.270.7356

Payroll:

Annette Gibbs, Assistant Director
annette.gibbs@downstate.edu
718.270.1254

Cynthia Lewis, Administrative Assistant
cynthia.lewis@downstate.edu
718.270.4728

Purchasing:

Vijai Persaud, Procurement Manager
vijai.persaud@downstate.edu
718.270.1369